Am I Participating in NaNoWriMo?

Hello, good morning/afternoon/evening!

Right now I am so tempted to participate in NaNoWriMo. . . there is a huge part of me that wants to sign up and spend the entirety of November writing. But the other part, the practical me, questions whether I can do it and not abandon all my studies and work. Knowing myself all too well, I’ll probably not do any of my work, and get so carried away in writing my story. At school I really need to focus at the moment, as I’ve just stared my GCSE’s and I have so much work.

I can barely focus on school work lately, as I’m dying to just blog all day and my mind is always thinking of new blog ideas rather than the El Niño Effect in the Pacific Ocean.

I am just dyingggggg to participate in NaNoWriMo, but I don’t think that I can do it and not die of exhaustion and work overload. And I know that if I do participate, it would mean not blogging as much, and I don’t want that to happen as I am totally engaged in my blog currently.

nano_featureI want to participate as I love creative writing and have been waiting all year for NaNoWriMo to come around again, thinking that I would be able to participate. This time last year I was just getting into the Blogging community on Instagram, and finding out about NaNoWriMo, and wished that I had made the deadline to enter.

For my school, November is a huge month as it is before the Christmas break, and as soon as we go back to school we have Mock-Exams an everything that we’ve covered in September, October, November and the majority of December. At school November is when we will be learning the final things to know and then re-covering the subjects within subjects that we didn’t understand as well as we should so we can revise over the holidays. And these Mocks go towards our expected grades and what happens afterwards.

It seems like a bigger process than it is, but its just organisation really. I’ve calculated that in order to reach 20,000 words I need to write 667 words a day. After school I have approximately 6 hours to work/revise and write. That equates to writing 111 words per hour…

But I can’t spend all my time writing, so if I were to spend 1/3 of my time writing that means 2 hours a day, and having to write close to 667 words per 2 hours (and all of it edited, and re-drafted) to get anywhere near an amount that I’m happy with. And that is impossible.

I don’t think that I can participate this year, despite how much I’d love to. I’d love to hear who’s participating, let me know! : )

GWR X

 

10 thoughts on “Am I Participating in NaNoWriMo?

    1. It’s a shame that it’s in november. If it were over the summer holidays I think that I wold be able to participate. . .

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I would love to participate but it’s just impossible for me. I’ll try again next year and for now I’m going to do a short story club in December to make up for my lost nanowrimo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m going to try again next year, too. I’m doing some writing on the side, just to keep on writing, whenever I have some free time.
      Your club sounds great! Though I don’t think I’ll be able to participate in it either, with all that’s happening next month.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Next year I might have more time since I will be doing my bachelor end project and one class instead of three classes and I’m going to try to start more prepared, so I hope that will work out 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am participating, this is my first time doing it. November is for me as well as busy month so I have to make sure that school/internship won’t suffer from this 😝

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

