I Can’t Believe It’s Over: ACOTAR.

Hi, everyone!

I can’t believe that this book is over, and I am in serious need for the next one.

16096824When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

(Goodreads)

Initial Reaction To This Book?

OKAYYYYYYYYYY. PASS ME THE NEXT ONE.

The Characters:

Feyre: The. Bravest. Character. I. Have. Ever. Met/Read (sorry Laia from AEITA). Feyre is probably the bravest character I have ever read because not only is she in another world, on no, she is living with what she believes to be the “monsters” who have been frightening and terrorising her people for centuries.

Feyre is resilient with her family, but with herself too. I found that while reading, it was very easy to know Feyre, as you were given so much thought and detail, you were almost part of her thinking.

Tamlin: Probably the hardest person to read at first, but I still loved him anyways. I didn’t really know what was going on with him at the start, but I found that as the book developed, Tamlin did a lot too.

I think that having his PoV would have been great, though I understand that it would have spoiled the plot and wouldn’t have given the book the same effect. I was always looking forward to when Tamlin was in the book, as it meant a lot of sarcasm between him and Lucien.

Lucien: At first, and through a lot of the book, I didn’t trust him. I felt uneasy when Feyre was in his presence (which shows Sarah J. Mass’ brilliant writing) and did’t know what was going on with him. He was sarcastic, but I found that he could be quiet sometimes and very quiet the next, though most of the time I found him moody, which was quite funny to read.

Alis: I really liked her presence. She was not what I expected either, which I really liked, and I found that book wouldn’t have been the same if Alis wasn’t included. However, I sort of wish that she had a bigger role in the book as it turned out at the end of the book that I really liked her.

The World-Building:

Sarah J. Mass is a genius. Truly. I found the world so clear and the ability to picture the world came so easily while reading, and it wasn’t info-dumpy!

I feel like everything was set out and planned, and every aspect was perfect, from Tamlin’s estate, to the Spring Court, to the customs, etc (I won’t say anymore as it will spoil the book).

Obviously, I loved the detail, and how we were learning things about the world a lot, but it came so easily into the plot.

The Plot:

The plot was marvellous. I loved the moderate pace yet steady progression. The book flowed from one thing to another so easily and everything was intertwined. As the plot quickened, it felt like the ending was much quicker than I though it would be, but I loved it so much. I feel like it was a god ending, but it just felt a little (really just a tiny bit) rushed compared to the rest of the book.

The plot was so packed, it was never boring. Some books just come to an unexpected halt, where nothing really happens, but I’m happy to say that this was not one of them.

SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS!!!!!!!


 

SO OMG. THE TRAILS WERE SO TENSE. I hated the high queen so much, I think we all do right?

Seeing Tamlin next to her each time, never speaking, moving, showing any emotion on his face shattered my heart every time.

And OMG the sex scene was. . . cough cough. Enough said, this book was very sexual.

I felt like Feyre, despite how much she loved Tamlin, was going to fall for Rhysand, and I think it’s going to happen in book two, which I’ll be annoyed about. I ship her and Tamlin.

The ending had me gasping for breath the entire time. SHE DIED. THEN CAME BACK TO LIFE. I think that it was a great move to brig her back a High-Fae, as if she comeback human it would have caused the most annoying thing: one immortal falling for a human and then them having to break up because one would grow old and the immortal one would hold the human behind. And that would be cliche, but I AM SO GLAD THIS WILL NEVER HAPPEN. The joy when I read that was 100% real and I actually screamed out “YESSSS!”.

So: RHYSAND. The deal he made with Feyre. . . WHAT WILL BE OCCURRING IN THIS WEEK EVERY MONTH?!

What I think will happen regarding Rhysand and Tamlin despite how much I hope it won’t happen:

Feyre will push away from Tamlin, and Rhysand will support her, blah, blah, blah, and then her and Tamlin will argue, WHILE everything else goes on. I hope this won’t happen, but I have a feeling something along these lines will, as most books do and yeah. I just hope so much that this doesn’t happen.

END OF SPOILERS! END OF SPOILERS! END OF SPOILERS!


I hope you enjoyed this review, if you haven’t read it, I highly recommend that you do so!

Have you read it? What did you think? Are you planning to read it?

lu

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “I Can’t Believe It’s Over: ACOTAR.

  1. I’m sorry but I saw your above comment and would like to mail you several tissue boxes if you decide to read Crown of Midnight and ACOMAF at the same time, because it will WRECK YOU LIKE NOTHING ELSE. My heart is splintering into a hundred tiny pieces just thinking about it.

    I think you’ll like ACOMAF, even with the shift in story, because the way every single thing that’s happened in ACOTAR *and* the sequel is handled and unpacked with care, and it blew me out of the water. I think you’ll like the ending the best. Talk about maniacal cackling, man oh man. Feyre is such a BAMF. I just love her.

    OVERALL, really great review. The twists were fantastically written and had me on the edge of my seat, and it’s almost impossible not to be impressed with how the entire story came together. I’m glad you linked back to this in your book haul post because I’m totally obsessed with this series and would love to exchange thoughts!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, it’s so wonderful when people share thoughts like this, I love it! You are making me so excited to read these books, especially ACOMAF!!!
      We should definitely exchange thoughts on the books as I read them, that’d be amazing!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I will be reading it soon, but I think it will have to wait until 2017 because I want to read the Throne of Glass series first. And I saw on Goodreads that it would be a six books series!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah. . . there are quite a few, I’m planning on reading ACOMAF and ToG2 at the same time, then finish the ToG series before the last of the trilogy comes out (If I’m still emotionally stable at that point, ahah!)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I experienced the worst book hangover after this book! I didn’t really enjoy book one but ACoMaF completely blew me away! I have SO much love for this book! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am beyond excited to see your thoughts on mist and fury haha. Feyre annoyed me a lot of thorns and roses but I still loved the story and everything about it. It was so magical.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. See, I didn’t mind as much as she was in a new place, and literally knew nothing abut it. Though she could have improvised a bit more. . .

          Like

Leave a Reply

