Throne Of Glass Review

‘Ello,

After two days of reading, reading, and more reading, I’ve finished Throne Of Glass. Again, Sarah J. Mass has made me fall in love with the characters, the setting, and the whole world she has created.

About Throne Of Glass:

23599075.jpgAfter serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

(SCOURCE: GOODREADS)

World Building/Plot/Pace:

I think that as I read this book over a shot period of time, the slow-ish plot didn’t really bother me. I actually enjoyed the moderate pace, sit gave the detail that made this book amazing. I loved the development of this book, and I was constantly wondering what was happening, trying to guess the entire time.

The way in which the world was made was so well developed, as you really got a contrast between places within the world, like we have today. Again, the setting description was amazing, so amazing that you had a vivid scene in your head while reading. I loved getting into the history of the world and . . . yeah, the world building was just great.

The plot was so clever, I love how things wrapped at the end, but didn’t at the same time? It was a great plot, like nothing I’ve ever read before. I loved how unique everything was, and how loads of things were going on at the same time.

The Characters:

22b11d7129928539c08bdcdc27f0f78d.jpgCelaena: How can you describe Celeana? Obviously, she was brave, resilient, blah, blah, blah, the usually aspects of an assassin. But she wan’t just that. She was hilarious, and charming, and grew to trust people. I loved how she thought about everything, and questioned things, and wasn’t ignorant to things. I  really liked how we learnt about her as the book progressed, rather than a massive info-dump at the start. She had walls built up around herself, and I was loving watching them come down.

Dorian: The typical womaniser prince, who was witty and, like Celeana, made me laugh aloud at three am when I was reading the book. We didn’t learn loads about his history, which kept things interesting, but I would have loved to know more about him. I feel like we’ve only touched the surface at the moment, and cannot wait to learn more about him on book 2.

Choal: MY CHOAL. I LOVE HIM. HASHTAG NEW BOOK BOY-FRIEND. Okay so Choal was as guarded as Celeana at the start, which was hilarious to read, got to admit it – sorry! Chaos is perfect, I love him. What more can you say but that? Okay. . . let me think. . . AH! In the beginning of the book Chaol seemed like this unkind guard guy that had a grudge against literally EVERYTHING. Apart from Dorian — I love their friendship — and it took  a good majority of the book to learn much about him. I think that Book 2 is going to have a lot of Choal. . . *cough cough*.

I feel like the characters were really well developed, but apart from Celeana, I didn’t really know what they looked like apart from their hair and eye colour and that Choal had high cheek bones and a scar down his face. I would have LOVED more about their appearance, I think that may just be me though?. . .

SPOILERS,SPOILERS, SPOILERS. GO TO THE END!!!


I’m only going to do a short spoiler section,

I absolutely hated Kaltain. I didn’t really see the purpose of her being there until the last 70-ish pages to be honest. And Cain. . .  God I wanted to punch him in the face.

I totally didn’t know who it was murdering everyone, and for a while I really thought that it was Nehemia. I felt so bad afterwards! It was between her and Cain, but I should have known that it wasn’t her.

I loved the challenges in the book, and I liked how we didn’t have all of them in detail, as I think that it would have slowed the book so much. . . And the last trial, oh my gosh! Things got so tense, and Choal! Bless him! I can’t believe that he killed someone to protect her, it made my heart melt. And she doesn’t know how he feels. . . the we know of!!


END OF SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pro: Great world building and character development (personality).

Con: I just wanted a little more development on what the characters looked like.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? I LOVED IT!

GWR X

 

 

37 thoughts on “Throne Of Glass Review”

  1. […] Throne of Glass: I loved this book. I found it so polished, and loved the progression of events and how so anythings were going on at the same time, I found the characters hilarious, charming, and their friendships were amazing. You can find my full review here. […]

    Like

        1. Currently I’m doing the same with ‘the sun is also a star, I want to read it, but I don’t want to finish it because then I’ll never be able to read it again for the first time, haha

          Like

    1. I’m so glad to hear it – and hopefully I can get the next book soonish (I have a lot of books to get through before I’m allowed to buy more 😦

      Like

  2. This is my FAV series!! Celaena is my favourite heroine, pretty much of all time. If I could be any fictional character, I would choose her every time!!! I’m not much of a Chaol fan, I know lots of people are but I really wasn’t much of a fan. Ooooohhhhh I can’t wait to see what you think of the rest of them!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read to chapter five online of book too, Dorians cousin!!! I swear he’s in the rest of the books too?!
      Celeana is already my favourite heroine!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Throne of Glass! Like you said, the world building is great. I got so absorbed in the world and its inhabitants throughout the first three books 🙂 Really need to read the rest! I’m so pleased you enjoyed it. Awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Ahhh I don’t have the second book (sad times) and I’ve had to start a book straight away, I feared that if I didn’t get straight into something I would get into a huge slump! I NEED TO KNOW what happens with Choal! I’m totally team Choal!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Welcome to the Throne of Glass Fan club!!! The Throne of Glass series are my favorite books and reading your review made me remember the first time I read it and why I fell in love with it!!!! Keep reading the next books are even more amazing and full of surprises!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks!! I don’t have the second one. . . but now I’m dying to read it — urggggg! I should have just bought the entire series in one go!:(

      Liked by 1 person

                    1. By the end of the book he grew on me so much! I still love Tamlin though ❤ I cannot wait to see what happens!!!

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. At the end I really liked Lucien too, I liked how she and lucien became friends towards the end of the book!

                      Like

Leave a Reply

