5 Month-Long Read: Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief.

Hi!

5 Months. 5. Months. I cannot believe that it took this long to read the FIRST Percy Jackson book. This Review is going to be a little different compared to my normal review layout.

28187-_sy180_Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

(GOODREADS)

My reading experience:

When I first started reading this book I was SO into it. I was reading loads, but around half way I put it down, and every time that I tried to pick it up afterwards my interest wasn’t hard for more than a few moments at a time. And I really wanted to enjoy this book, which is even sadder.

Over the summer I completely forgot about this book. Bad Lu, I know. I felt so bad for neglecting this book. However, I think that I needed to.

I promised myself that I would finish this book before December, and I have, so I’m happy. I think putting this book down is exactly what I needed to do to actually ENJOY the ending. I think that if I’d tried to finish it back in July, forcing myself to read, I wouldn’t have enjoyed it.

It wasn’t slow pace, or boring – on the contrary – I just found that the comedy was forced, and that Percy annoyed me a little as he was thrown into this crazy new world and seemed to be coping time with it? And was leading the trio when he really had no experience in the world of the Gods? It all seemed a little strange to me. . .

I think what also set this in a worse light for me than it should have been is that I loved the films, and they are so different from the books. Usually, when I see a book as a film, I will make sure to read the book first, but I didn’t even know that they were books when the first film came out! Obviously there are huge changes in the film, and it made the book seem… off? When really that roe should have been reversed. I don’t think I realised just how different the film was from the book before.

I’m annoyed that it took me so long to read this book, but I will be continuing with the series as I actually really enjoyed the last 200 pages that I read. My mum bought me the rest of the series after I purchased the first book, so I am determined to read them.

Overall, I would give this book 3.5 stars. I wish that I could explain exactly how I’m feeling about this book. Am I explaining it in an understandable way?

What do you think of this book? Have you had any books that took you forever to read?

GWR X

 

16 thoughts on “5 Month-Long Read: Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief.

  1. Haven’t read Percy bc I’m not patient with Middle Grade books. I need some romance (or love interest) and usually MG books focus on other stuff. So I guess that’s why I haven’t read it, even though everyone under the sun says I should.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I understand!😂 I’ve read this series and really loved it….along with the second series😜 But I know what you mean by losing interest but also wanting to read it. I do that a lot lol😋

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a coincidence, I just read this book too! I really enjoyed it! I am probably going to give it 4 to 5 stars when I finally get around to writing the review. I think I read the book at a time where I was in a mood for young-ish/middle grade fiction. I just read like 7 contemporary young adult books in a row, so this was a welcome relief, lol! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same, I think that if I were to read it now, I would like it way more than I did back in July. Did you like the book?

      Like

  4. I haven’t read these books but I would like to eventually. I know exactly what you mean though, I have books that I have really liked….but not enough that I want to read it every second of the day. Like, some books you pick up and you don’t want to put down. But I kind of like books like this where they end up just being a steady read, they don’t make me so anxious about finishing it lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I didn’t really look at it that way, so thank you for mentioning that!
      I would give these books a try, see how you like them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

