The 12 Days of Dash and Lily!

Happy Sunday everyone,

Yesterday, all of last night and this morning I was able to read The 12 Days Of Dash And Lily, despite the sort of-slump that is burdening me and therefore preventing me from really getting into The Hobbit with The Tea Time Readers book club that I’m part of.

No more negativity, onwards with how much I loved this book!

the-twelve-days-of-dash-and-lily-rachel-cohn-david-levithan-690x262-1456569196

26258306New York Times bestselling authors Rachel Cohn and David Levithan are back with a life-affirming Christmas romance starring Dash and Lily.

Dash and Lily have had a tough year since readers first watched the couple fall in love. Lily’s beloved grandfather suffered a heart attack, and his difficult road to recovery has taken a major toll on her typically sunny disposition. 31368214

With only twelve days left until Christmas—Lily’s favorite time of the year—Dash, Lily’s brother Langston, and their closest friends take Manhattan by storm to help Lily recapture the holiday magic of New York City in December.

Told in alternating chapters, The Twelve Days of Dash & Lilyreunites two beloved characters and is bound to be a Christmas favorite, season after season.

(SCOURCE: GOODREADS)

dashandlily

In the beginning, I found this book a little slow, which didn’t help my reading slump, but then last night I was able to plough through the slow beginning and get to the amazing parts. Again, David and Rachel created a sweet novel that I loved reading.

The middle was drama-packed, and was completely different from Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares. The last book was all ‘amazing, everything is amazing!’ and this book was really different from that, and focused on a lot of issues that both the characters were facing, apart and with each other in their relationship.

It was so horrible to see lily not in the christmas spirit, and I think that’s what really made me read until the early hours of the morning: wanting to see her in the christmas spirit again, as well as many other factors. Lily changed a lot form the first book, hr attitude to a lot was different and even swore a few times, which the old Lily never would have dreamt of doing!

I found Dash less snobby and word-y, and wasn’t using fancy words all the time-I don’t think he did more than twice actually-and he was smooch more fun, but also worried for Lily and worried if he was right for her. Dash was fun, but he still had that maturity about him when dealing with family issues, and arguments, etc. . .

I felt that the pace increased and increased as the book progressed, and a pat of me even thinks what then ending came about every quickly and ended suddenly. When I turned the page and there was no more writing where I expected there to be, I exclaimed “wtf, you’re kidding?!” so loudly. How could Rachel and David do this to us?

Overall, this book was lovely, and it definitely got me into the christmas spirit, maybe too early? It can never be too early to be in the Christmas spirit! Currently I’m listening to all the christmas songs, and yes, it is only the 20th November. I fee like this was a great follow up book from Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, but it left me with a lot of questions at the end. . .

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts? Are you planning to read it?

Lu X

9 thoughts on “The 12 Days of Dash and Lily!

  1. When I first read the title, I thought you were doing a Christmas countdown with books. XD That’s not a bad idea though. Now I have another book I have to read. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

