The Sun Is Also A Star Review

Hi!

It’s been too long, I know! Who’s terrible at being a frequent blogger this December? Lu is!! I am so sorry. I don’t know why, but I’ve had no motivation to blog over the past couple of days and have been in such a bad mood and really didn’t want to reflect that on my blog and be negative. I’ve just broken up for the holidays, so hopefully I’ll be able to write some more blogs too!


So, I’ve finally finished the sun is also a star and I am so happy about it. I feel like I was so behind on my reading before, and finishing it has just uplifted my mood entirely.

I wouldn’t say that this book is one of my all time favourites, but it’s definitely very good and I recommend it.

28763485Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

(GOODREADS)

As I said above, this book is great. I loved a lot of things about this book, and I feel like it could have been one of my favourites if the ending hadn’t been as quick compared to the rest.

Anyways. . .

I loved the character development and background. You can just tell that this book has been thought over and over and is so well researched and thoughtfully crafted together. I don’t think that I’ve read a book that is this informational and intriguing! There were loads of little facts throughout the book and then a short chapter on a theory e.g: multiverses.

I also loved the addition paragraphs to the book. What I mean by this is let’s say Natasha would meet a person on the street that was playing the guitar and the chapter ended with that guitar player giving her a thought, the next short chapter would be about that guitar player in the third person. It would show something interesting about them that you can’t really see from just looking at them, or how meeting someone on the street can influence your life, even if it’s in a tiny way.

I guess that’s what this book is all about. How meeting people can effect anything and everything, and when you first meet them, you have no idea how they’ll change your life. I think that’s a really nice concept, as it points out the unexpectedness of life, and how it’s not always best to have things planned out and it’s best to let things be how they may for even just a day.


Character development was a huge thing in this book. Even though it was set over just the one day, they both changed so much, and changed their views and beliefs. I feel like Natasha became way less factual and dismissive of things not scientifically backed-up.

I think out of the two of them Natasha changed the most, and the story mainly focussed on her rather than Daniel. Natasha is a wonderful character, and I feel like she would be such a fun character if this terrible thing weren’t happening to her. Daniel was cheesy but sweet, and I feel like I need a Daniel (only as a friend) in my life as he’s such a good character. He cares so much about other people above himself and it’s so lovely! (*attempts not not sing  the tune of “she’s so lovely by scouting for girls” *)

the sun is also a star photo .JPG

As I mentioned above, it’s set over one day. An so much happens within this day it feels like it should be set over a week or a few days at least. I think this is why the book isn’t an “OMG I LOVED IT SO MUCH” king of book as so much happened leading up to the end, and it was so crammed full of amazingness, and then paff the ending and it just fizzles out and then picks up a bit at the end and leaves you hanging. However, I really like the end of the book when it leaves you hanging because it is intentional as the whole book is about the multiverses and how so many things could happen and there a an infinite amount of the same moment playing out and they are just experiencing one of the infinite moments that will spiral into many others.


Again: sorry for not posting over the last couple of days or so, but I hoped you liked this review, let me know what you think! Have you read this book?? Let me know!

Have a great rest of the day!

Lu x

 

 

What am I reading now?

22299763

 

 

23 thoughts on “The Sun Is Also A Star Review

  1. Awesome review, Lu! I just finished Everything, Everything and thought it was a great read despite its issues. I’m glad to hear you liked this one! I’ll be looking forward to reading it now that I’ve heard a few supportive reviews! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!!
      What didn’t you like so much about it?
      Ahhh I am so excited to hear that you’ll read it, it’s so worth it 👌🏻

      Like

  2. I love your bookshelf! I also need to read Crooked Kingdom. Thankfully a friend got it for me for Christmas. I’m looking forward to see what you think of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey, nice review! Had this book on my reading list for long now 🙂 by the way, I wanted to tell you that your one of your posts “top 10 books for 2016” inspired me to do one too! Frankly I had been thinking of doing it for long now and I read yours and LOVED it so I finally made one too! I’ve linked your blog and the post 😀 Do check it out and lemme know what you thought! Hope you enjoy “Crooked Kingdom”.

    Like

    1. Hi, thank you!
      That is so wonderful to hear, I will go and check it out right now!
      Thank you!!

      Like

    1. Thank you!
      Yes, I read it earlier this year, and my oh my, I loved it so much!! Have you read it?

      Like

        1. Same here! I feel like the writing style in Everything Everything is so free and laid back while tacking a huge concept!

          Like

    1. Thank you!
      I liked the ending, though I felt like at the time of reading it it was a bit rushed, then I realised the significance of it while writing the review!

      Like

  4. Pfff… I really want to read this book now. I like the way you write. It makes me even more exciting 🙂 Can’t wait for the next one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

