My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Winter Romances!

Hiyaaaa!

So this book.

Wowzahhhhh.

How cute, funny and heartwarming.

I’ve been reading this with my Instagram and Goodreads reading group Tea Time Readers an boy, am I thankful for it! From the beginning of December my hear has been filled with wonderful short stories that have made my December amazing.

26328452If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins. Whether you enjoy celebrating Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or New Year’s there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love

(GOODREADS)



 

I loved reading the short stories and am so sad that they’ve come to an end. The twelve stories were:

  1. “Midnights” by Rainbow Rowell
  2. “The Lady and the Fox” by Kelly Link
  3. “Angels in the Snow” by Matt de la Peña
  4. “Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me” by Jenny Han
  5. “It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown” by Stephanie Perkins.
  6. “Your Temporary Santa” by David Levithan.
  7. “Krampuslauf” by Holly Black.
  8. “What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth?” by Gayle Forman.
  9. “Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus” by Myra McEntire
  10. “Welcome to Christmas, CA” by Kiersten White.
  11. “Star of Bethlehem” by Ally Carter.
  12. “The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer” by Laini Taylor.

“Midnights” by Rainbow Rowell

This was a fabulous start to the book. I found that the character was really sweet and I loved how the story was set over multiple years flicking back and forth between time a bit. Because of it being set over a number of years I feel like we really got to know the main character, however not the others as well, but for a short story they were really well added into the story. The story was quite relatable in a way too, with the feeling of unrequited love and change as you grow and develop.

Overall? Great start to the book!

“The Lady and the Fox” by Kelly Link

I LOVED THIS ONE. At first I thought that it was a little strange, but within a matter of pages I was swept away in this magical tale. I found it so unique and quirky! The main character wasn’t perfect, which I loveddddd! It warmed my hear and made me feel all gooey inside! This story was also set over a number of years, starting when the main character was a little girl, and continuing into her adulthood. Because of this, I think that we really got to know that characters, like in “Midnights” by Rainbow Rowell.

Overall: LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!

“Angels in the Snow” by Matt de la Peña

If I’m honest, this story wasn’t my favourite. I feel like not much happened in this and the main character was a little odd. However, I loved that a romance was from the guy’s PoV, rather than the girl’s! I found it a little slow in the beginning, but it really sped up towards the end. I liked how it was simple though, and maybe has a possibility of something like it happening in real life.

Overall: Thought it was sweet, but not much happened!

“Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me” by Jenny Han

This one was super cute and quirky. I mean: ELVES. ELVES. Being adopted by SANTA!! OMG this short story was so good!! I loved the natural flow to it and how it wasn’t supppppeeeerrrrrrrrrrr long like some of the others. At the time, knowing it was short, I tried to take my time reading it, but I still finished it really quickly and was so sad afterwards. I loved how everything wasn’t portrayed as amazing in Polaris, and that the main character had struggles and it didn’t necessarily end with EVERYTHING being resolved.

Overall: AMMAAAAAAZZZINNNG.

“It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown” by Stephanie Perkins

This one was so sweet and wonderful. With a total of three/four characters actually met/ described in the book it was so full and descriptive. The story saw really simple *in a good way* and was really easy to get swept up in. This one really got me in the Christmas spirit, and made me ol’ heart warm up! I loved the characters, they weren’t exactly the same personality, etc, but they really fitted together and I really SHIP them!

Overall: Wonderful!

“You’re Temporary Santa” by David Levithan

If I’m honest, this one wasn’t as great as I thought it was going to be. I mean I had REALLY high hopes for it. It was sweet, but I was confused almost all of the way through and there wasn’t as much backstory as I would have liked. However, it was a pretty short one, so that may have influenced it.

Overall: Good.

“Krampuslauf” by Holly Black

When reading the first page of this short story, I was rather perplexed. It was vague but enticing and as I read more, it grew on me a lot. I loved the sharp plot twist at the end and how it was to do with magic really picked up the Christmas vibes. It was set around new year and made me even more excited for the new year and to embrace its fast approach.

Overall: Surprising!

“What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth?” by Gayle Forman

I really enjoyed this one. We were thrown back in, and information was distributed over the short story, rather than info-dumping us at the beginning. I like the college story and how if focussed on Hunukka not Christmas and it added something to the collection. This had me laughing aloud with the characters, and wishing it not to end!

Overall: Cute and funny.

“Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus” by Myra McEntire

This one really made a traditional Christian event unique and funny. I really appreciated the guy having the PoV as I actually really like books that have a guys PoV and we hadn’t had many over the book. I liked the little romance in the book ads we got to know the characters in a really short space of time and really well. There was a lot of information put into the story, but iI didn’t find it info-dumpy in the slightest!

Overall: So fun!

“Welcome to Christmas, CA” by Kiersten White

I ADORED THIS ONE. It was so wonderful and really represented a realistic (sort of) home situation. The plot was wonderful and I really like the fairytale like ending. Everything worked out, and it really sent a message of how not everything is as it seems and things DO infect work out in the end. The characters were all wonderful, and (I know it seems like I talk about this a lot) no info-dumping! The whole flow of it felt so natural and so parts were just sooo cuteeee!

Overall: LOVVVEEEEDDDDDD ITTTT.

“Star of Bethlehem” by Ally Carter

This one wasn’t realistic, but I still loved it. I thought that it was quite different from the others and had was really intriguing. Throughout the story we knew that the main girl was running from something, but we didn’t know what and I loved how everything pieced together at the end. The story had a wonderful flow to it and really put me in the christmassy mood, even after Christmas!

Overall: Really cute.

“The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer” by Laini Taylor

Okay, so I disliked this tale all the way up until the last six or so pages. It was super long, and i felt like nothing much was happening in the first ten pages that really grabbed me. The main character was sad, and there was a really creepy strange priest and it was so weird and then it turned all magically and I loved it! The ending was so cool. I liked how it was set in a mystery place though, that seemed to be in the past and maybe even another world. There was a lot of history incorporated into the tale, and it made it really well put together, despite the pace being a little slow.

Overall: Pretty good.



I hope that you enjoyed this sum up, and well done if you got to the end! I’m just realising how long this blog post is and am sort of regretting it!

Thank you for reading,

Lu x

17 thoughts on “My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Winter Romances!

  1. Great review! I’m actually halfway through the last story of this book, and I don’t want it to end!! I need more!! This book was SOOO cute, but I agree that Your Temporary Santa and Angels in the Snow kinda fell flat. Midnights is definitely my fave though, I’m a sucker for Rainbow Rowell’s writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! It’s a really good first post and I loved how you included a video! But maybe you could do a post that lets your readers get to know you as a person?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved the format on that post. I just posted my first “real” post. Please look at it and tell me what you think I don’t care if you don’t like it. Just tell me what I did wrong. Viola

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

