One Memory Of Flora Banks Review.

So I haven’t read a contemporary book like this in about 6 months (give or take) and gosh, I didn’t miss them. Contemporaries really aren’t my type of book any more and I much prefer the other genres because well, contemporaries seem boring now.

In particular, One Memory. It was good at first, when things were actually happening, but then in the middle the plot seemed to stop and I thought that would have been much more exciting and engaging. But I think that this is majorly due to the fact that the books I read now are way different and in a completely different genre. I just don’t think that this is my genre anymore. And, it took me over a month and a half to read it.

30849412Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day, and has since the age of ten, when the tumor that was removed from Flora’s brain took with it her ability to make new memories. That is, until she kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend, the night before he leaves town. Miraculously, this one memory breaks through Flora’s fractured mind, and sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is responsible for restoring her memory and making her whole again. So when an encouraging email from Drake suggests she meet him on the other side of the world, Flora knows with certainty that this is the first step toward reclaiming her life.

I found that the book picked up again at page 250, and the end was pretty good, and even a but emotional at times but the whole book was just strange and a bit boring. The ending was really quick, which I’m unsure about whether I like or not. It seemed like an easy ending for the book, but also the direction that it need to take?

I also thought that the book—because of her amnesia which led to her childish actions—was rather childish and like it was suited for younger readers? The whole book as a whole was very odd, and that may have been authorial intent? Perhaps to show that the life of someone with amnesia is odd and confusing and to get that message across.


It’s sad that I didn’t like it, because I really wanted to be able to but I just don’t think that Contemporary is my genre any more.


I would recommend this if you like to read about different mental health (as well as things such as amnesia) as I used to read a lot of contemporaries to do with mental health and feel like I would have enjoyed this book then.

Lu

14 thoughts on “One Memory Of Flora Banks Review.”

  1. I found this one a bit hard to get through as well! it was all the repetition?? I mean, I think it worked because it was really showing what life was like for Flora, buuuut…it also did make it not the most interesting thing to read sadly.😭

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, all the repetition was a bit annoying after a while, but I dee why it was there???? at the same time! It just made it a bit dull which is sad because I really want to love all the books because… well… BOOKS!

      Like

    1. I’m glad that I’m not the only one! I was so close to putting it down and moving on to another book, but I was so determined to finish it so I could judge the whole book and have a clearer sense of what was going on.
      Thank you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

