WHY REVIEWING BOOKS CAN ACTUALLY BE REALLY DIFFICULT. STRUGGLES ARE REAL

Reviewing books isn’t the easiest thing in the world sometimes. There are a lottt of struggles. PEOPLE THINK ITS REALLY EASY. HAVING AN OPINION IS EASY. But sharing it with the world? Better get out your map otherwise YOU WILL GET LOST. 

Writing about books isn’t the easiest thing in the world because when you’re hyperventilating with excitement° about a book then it’s difficult to form words. I mean… sometimes words just don’t cover how WE FEEL. The Struggles™ is real. 

° or when you really don’t like it and try to write things in a way that won’t offend while still putting across your opinion

IMG_1882

1. YOU HAVE TO FORMULATE WORDS. THAT ACTUALLY MAKE SENSE! 

We get it. . . you can write sentences that make sense.

When you love a book A LOT it’s so difficult to actually FORM WORDS ABOUT IT COHERENTLY.

T R U S T  M O I.

It’s not just me! I’VE CHECKED.

Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 01.50.17

The temptation to just squeal “I LOVE IT!! I LOVE (INSERT CHARACTERS NAME) SO MUCH!!! I LOVE ITTTTT SO MUCH” is crazy high and I can’t write a review (or ANY POST REALLY) without writing it at least one time.

Sometimes I really contemplate things (like when I’m reading it) but afterwards my brain just turns into a mush of “WHY DO I LOVE IT SO MUCH I CAN’T THINK OF ANYTHING APART FROM HOW MUCH I LOVE IT!”

IMG_1882

2. REREADING IT OVER AND OVER TO MAKE SURE YOU INCLUDED IT ALL. . . 

but then you ALWAYS end up forgetting somethinggggggg. . .

giphy-9

HONESTLY. I always forget something. Not just in reviews.

I’ll be thinking the entire time: “I GOTTA REMEMBER X, I GOTTA REMEMBER X. . .” 

Re-reading/proof: “YUP, I’VE GOT EVERYTHING!!! WHOOP DONE!”

Schedule: “GAH I  DIDN’T FORGET ANYTHING!!”

7 days after publishing review: “RUGJB I FORGOT TO MENTION X!!!!!!”

it’s a nightmare.

I’m going to forget something in this post for sure.

IMG_1882

3. YOU CAN’T BLAB BECAUSE YOU WILL BORE PEOPLE. 

“BUT WHAT ABOUT USSSS????” Wail all of our opinions and fangirling tendencies! 

Having 60 line paragraphs where you fangirl SHOUT AT THE INTERNET might be satisfying for the blogger . . . but maybe not so for the reader. 

Or. 

What’s worse is a massive long paragraph just filled with criticism and bluntness.

THERE ARE SO MANY RULES I CANT COPE. 

JK do whatever the heck you want! 😀 :p

IMG_1882

4. STOPPING 500 TIMES TO JUST SOB OVER THE BEAUTY OF THE BOOK

Tell me this isn’t just me. . . 

IMG_1882

5. TO SCHEDULE REVIEWS YOU HAVE TO BE A MATHEMATICAL GENIUS. 

I. KID. YOU. NOT.

4d6dd70029ca5c46177cf5f5b6188025

Heya to all my fellow WordPress sufferers users.

For everyone else: on WordPress you can schedule posts for whenever you want at whatever time HOWEVER. This happens when you write the posts. AND if you’re like me, and you schedule up to 8 posts at a time, remembering all the dates is a bit tricky (AND BY THIS I MEAN: IMPOSSIBLE) because the calendar that pops up when you go to schedule a posts doesn’t tell you if you already have a post for that day.

AND THEN. When you go to check that your scheduled posts are all there, you’ll end up having 3 posts saying “scheduled for 3 days time”. *FACE-PALM* 

Confused? yeah well. . . so am i. #HaveBeenAllMyLife. 

IMG_1882

6. OH NO! YOU CAN’T SAY THAT, IT WILL OFFEND SOMEONE SOMEWHERE! THIS BOOK IS PROBLEMATIC WHY

This can actually be traumatic. If a book has got some features that people don’t agree with, and there’s been a cloud of beef about it *coughcough*ACOWARºº*coughcough* writing a review CAN STRESS YOU OUT.

giphy-6-2

ººnot just ACOWAR there are probably like 100,000,000,000 other books out there.

Or, if you didn’t really like the book. . . YOU HAVE TO FIND SOME WAY OF PUTTING THAT ACROSS NICELY. I NEVER WANT TO BE MEAN. I WOULD RATHER BE SCORCHED TO DEATH BY one millions SUNS THAN BE MEAN.

HOW. IS. THAT. DONE.

Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 01.50.17

Like. . .  how is that done?? Saying “yeah I didn’t like it,” isn’t really that nice, now is it?

IS THIS JUST ME? PLS SAY NO. Do I care to much about what people think of what I think??? Probably. Will this ever change? Probably not. Okay. Moving on.

And everyone’s like: ‘Share your opinion! we respect it!”

me: *brain shuts down* “HIDE ME!!! IM A FUGITIVE!” *dies*

chat with me

So that’s all from me today! What are your reviewing struggles? Let me know???

LUUUUUUUUU

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “WHY REVIEWING BOOKS CAN ACTUALLY BE REALLY DIFFICULT. STRUGGLES ARE REAL”

  1. This is so relatable! It’s so difficult to translate my thoughts into words that make sense! And not to mention the structure of the review and if it flows well or not. So many things to think about!
    Which makes it so irritating to reread it days later to discover I’d forgotten something!!
    Great post 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG YES. MAKING MISTAKES/TYPOS/FORGETTING THINGS IS SO CRINGE WHEN I LOOK BACK AT MY POSTS. . . yet.. . . I do THAT EVERY TIME??
      erugbs paragraphs are the actual worst because id love to just fangirl for 475392lines but it wouldn’t look great ahahah.

      FHWESGBRKGBKRG yes the pain of rereading things. now I just never want to read any post of mine ever again in fear of forgetting so many things ahah.

      aww thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m actually trying to write my first ever book review at the moment. Oh my God. NO ONE TOLD ME IT WAS THIS HARD?

    I swear every time I proofread it there’s something wrong, and at the rate I’m going I will never get around to posting this review. But wish me luck anyway!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay, honey, there is NOTHING wrong with your review. Starting to write book reviews was so difficult for me, I was terrified that I would do it wrong. Your opinion is your opinion and you can say whatever you want, for as long as you want about a book. Find your groove, and I hope that you love it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. THIS IS SO TRUE OMAG. THE NUMBER OF TIMES I USE “I LOVE THIS SO MUCH” IN MY REVIEWS IS INSANE. AND THEN WHEN I PROOF READ IT, I REALISE IT AND THEN I HAVE TO SIT AND GOOGLE UP SYNONYMS FOR LOVE AND INSERT THOSE WHEREVER POSSIBLE. THE STRUGGLE IS REAL Y’ALL.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I WANT TO COMMENT ON THING #5!
    THAT USED TO BE ME!
    TRYING TO DO MATH!
    KEEPING UP WITH MY BLOG POSTS IN MY PLANNER!

    BUT
    BUT BUT BUT

    WordPress has done something new! When I go to schedule reviews now (or any blog posts, really!), it shows the dates that have reviews scheduled as being circled AND when you hover over the circled date, it gives you a short preview of what the title of the post scheduled for that day is!! I cannot tell you how much this has saved me! I don’t know if it’s something they’re rolling out gradually or what, but it is a LIFESAVER.

    And as for #6… What I ended up doing is, “If you’re a fan of the genre, you’ll probably want to check it out. If you’re not, feel free to skip it.” That way you’re not outright saying that the book is bad, but you’re giving people a way out so you can’t be held responsible if they decide to check out the book and they don’t like it!

    Like the review I have scheduled for Sunday coming up: it’s really not for everyone (I think I gave it a 3/5 stars, which means it’s pretty basic), but if you’re a die-hard zombie genre fan, you’d probably find it entertaining. I find a way to get that across in my review: if you don’t like the genre, you probs won’t like the book. That way, none of the blame is on me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG YES I FOUND THAT YESTERDAY AND I WAS SO HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Oh my yes I just want to scream “EVERYONE READ THISSSSSSSSSSSS” but then I know that not everyone is gonna love it so I just try and say something vague YET NOT VAGUE??? You know???

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I almost screamed when I saw it was a thing. THANK YOU, WORDPRESS OVERLORDS!

        OH I KNOW. It’s so difficult and then you offend people who loved the book if you don’t tell everyone to read it but if you tell everyone to read it then you offend the person who didn’t like the book and it’s just a huge mess and blerghghghghgh

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha the struggle is real!! I find it so hard to write reviews for books I like that aren’t just. “Buy this, you need it, it’s good” hahaha. The meanness factor is definitely tricky! I think because I write as well I have a tiny taste of the hardship the author has gone to so I can’t put them down for that. I should start giving A’s for effort and that means I hate it 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

