THINGS I’M LOOKING FOR IN FANTASY YA.

Helloooooooooo.

I think that its 60000 percent fair to say that fantasy is my favourite genre.

While I may not have read every single fantasy book release yet, I still read 90%* fantasy and absolutely love it. And I admit, I can’t really read anything else because I just get fed up and don’t find it as exciting and damn, I love all** fantasy worlds.

*damn I’m using a lot of percentages, I’m such a math expert. **okay, maybe not alllllllll everrrrr.

1. I WANT TO BE SCARED!

I want a plot that has me on the edge of my seat. I want to not know what’s going on, I want to be thrilled, I want to be so scared that I fear the characters lives.

this leads me on to my second point.

2. I WANT MURDER AND DEATH.

And yes, I know, I sound like a crazy person.

But I want things to be gruesome. I want to have so much death and pain that it smushes my heart and all I feel is pain #CrookedKingdomVibes.

I want to be so heartbroken by the book that I’m reading that I can hardly cope.

3. I DO NOT WANT A SEXIST WORLD WHERE THE GIRL HAS TO PROVE HERSELF.

I am so incredibly done with worlds where the “chosen one” is a girl, and she has to prove herself to everyone before she can go on to save the world.

I don’t want there to be blabbing, I just want the book to START. I want the plot to start straight away with no blabbing and I want to be on edge from page one without reading about a sexist world.

4. I WANT A MYTHICAL CREATURE.

Okay, the cliche for ‘fantasy’ books is traditionally that theres a beast or mythical creature that in order to save the people, must be slain.

THEN WHERE THE HELL ARE ALL THE MYTHICAL CREATURES?????????? LIKE WHERE???

I WANT MY MYTHICAL BABIES.

I have read literally ONE book / series that has a mythical creature AND IT WASN’T EVEN DANGEROUS. Like WTH.

5. I DO NOT WANT A ROMANCE THAT TAKES OVER THE ENTIRE BOOK.

Of course, I want to have a romance. It isn’t essential, but I like to have a romance. But what I do not want, is a romance that takes up 90%*** of the book and the plot could take up about 70 pages if you cut all the romantic scenes out.

I want a romance that doesn’t influence all of the characters decisions and doesn’t take over their mind.

I jsut want a nice romance that isn’t too cliche or too in-your-face or too instalove, or too clingy****

*** ok maybe I exaggerate here. MAYBE. **** perhaps I’m being a tad picky here.

6. MAGIC THAT ISN’T TOO SIMPLISTIC OR TOO COMPLICATED.

When it comes to magic, I want to actually understand how it works. If I can’t understand it, and it’s confusing me and affecting how I interpret the novel and I can’t understand anything because of it, guarantee imma DNF that book.

OR, if it is complicated, I want it to be properly explained because I have a peasant brain that requires some seriously simple explanations*****

I love magic, and when it’s in a book I literally OBSESS.

*****okay so maybe it doesn’t need to be that simple, it just needs to make sense.

7. HAVE A FULLY BUILT WORLD.

I don’t want half a city, or just some bare earth. I want a fricking city made of words. I want to properly VISUALISE the planet.

I want something that I want to go and inhabit with all my mythical beast babies and rule over forever.

Is this realistic? Probably no.

Do I still want it to happen? Yes.

8. NAMES THAT I CAN ACTUALLY SAY.

Half of the names that I come across are a jumble of letters that look like: glysjn and is actually pronounced “Glisjin” or something and just strange af.

Like, is this just a way to torture me throughout the whole book / series?

OHHHH and of course because it’s fantasy all ‘i’’s are replaced with ‘y’’s and I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY WE NEED THAT. It’s just silly mate.

9. UNDER 1000 CHARACTERS.

Sometimes there are SO MANY characters that are just CHUCKED my way an no, I say. no more. pls. pls I can’t deal with this.

I just think “ahhh I know who everyone is now” *author mentions 10 characters that haven’t been mentioned for a page* “Wait. Who is everyone again?” *reader smacks their face with a 1000 hardback books* ******

****** I wouldn’t recommend doing this as there is a high possibility that you could damage a book, and in any case of any book abusing, the abuser can face up to 10,000 years in prison, or execution. LOL IT’S ALL JOKES. Or is it?

10. DIVERSITY!

As you may know or not know, I think that there should be more diversity in books, but I won’t slay a book or series and cut out it’s heart if it doesn’t have PoC or characters that represent the LGBTQAIP+ community.

I really love to see different ethnicities represented and finding a book that has characters from ethnicities that aren’t usually the main characters. However for me, I don’t mind whether they’re from Asian decent, African, English or any other. I care about the personality and traits of the character.

imma stop right here because I can feel that I’m going to start getting really heated up over the topic.


That’s all from me today,

What do you want from a fantasy novel?

LUUUUUUUUU

 

12 thoughts on “THINGS I’M LOOKING FOR IN FANTASY YA.”

        1. I still need to finish the Grisha trilogy!! after Siege and Storm I need to see what happens because…. THAT CLIFFHANGER… I hope that you enjoy both!

          Like

    1. oh no no no the struggle is VERY much alive for everyone. When I see a name with “Y”’s in the middle it confuses me, let alone names like ‘Geoifrynnd’ that’s really said “Ge-of-frid” or something ridiculous like that.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I usually just skip over the names, tbh, but I’m kind of on the fence about this. Normal names like George and Jeffrey wouldn’t really fit in with the whole fantasy world, but there’s really no need to throw a bunch of random letters into a normal name just to make it look like it belongs.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. 3 and 8! I feel your frustration on those ones especially. The ‘chosen one’ who has to prove herself is such an overused trope! Sure, it was different and empowering at first, but it’s so boring and commonplace now! It’s the same book being published under different titles essentially!
    And yes, names! Do you do what I do and just make a random noise in your head when you approach said name? 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Tell The Cake Queen Your Thoughts: