Duet Discussion About Our Dark Duet With Lu and Ilsa // The Queens Unite To Review Monsters, Darkness and Soul Stealing.

In in October (I know A WHILE AGO) I buddy read Our dark duet with Ilsa @ Whisper of Ink, and we’ve just gotten to posting out review! I absolutely loved this book, as did Ilsa and you can go check out her review here. 

Ilsa is a lovely human-icecream hybrid and IF YOU’RE NOT FOLLOWING HER THEN WUT. ARE. YOU. DOING. I’ll forgive you* this once but skhgbrghrghrb WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN LIVING?? UNDER A ROCK??

Go follow her here at once!

*I may not. . . this is TOO MUCH of an offence. . .

whoops. . . this may contain spoilers for book one. . . we went rather c r a z y while writing this. . .


THIS BOOK IS A PIECE OF AUGUST FLYNN’S MUSIC AND IT STOLE MY SOUL.  

Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30Ilsa: Um…WOW. V.E SCHWAB DID NOT JUST DO THAT TO ME. She did NOT JUST DO THAT TO ME.  I absolutely fell in love with This Savage Song and I think Our Dark Duet was one of the best sequels I have ever read. Apart from the cover being blue, this one did NOT suffer from second book blues at all! What did you think Lu?

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31 Lu: Literally, this book blew me away. I loved the first book SO much and this book was just sheer perfection. I think that everything about this book was SOOOOOO brilliant I jsrgbrkjgbkrdgrdg just can’t even think about it without wanting to combust. SO MUCH HEARTBREAK. I JSBGR can’t even cope.

 Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30  Ilsa:  *combusts with you* But can we just talk about the characters for a minute? THE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT WAS SO FREAKING GOOD?! I am impressed. KATE DEVELOPS SO MUCH AGAHAHA.  I mean,  in the first book she’s trying to be all tough for her Dad (aka her ‘father’s daughter’) but now she’s her own person and I was ROOTING FOR HER SO MUCH. She was a lot more likeable in this one?

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31Lu: Can we just get over how much the characters made us feel already. NO WAIT THAT’S IMPOSSIBLE. LET ME JUST CRY 4EVER. OHHH ummmm her SO friends in Prosperity were amazing?? They really helped kate develop and they cared for her SO much (and it pains me so much that they’ll never hear from her again and I cannot take itttttt) and like. . . RILEY was brilliant. He was so sweet to Kate and he and his boyfriend are people that I legit want to meet. And when Kate kept thinking “I should be running because it’s the only I know how to do properly” I was just thinking AWWWW KATEEEEEEEE BLESS U. I just died with all the feels.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30Ilsa: YEP! I love that she had “friends” now. It made her SO much more realistic? I loved that they were in the book, obviously, but not enough for me. THEY KINDA DISAPPEARED AFTER A WHILE WHAT HAPPENED TO THEM?

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31Lu: YES!!! LIKE… WHERE DID THEY GO?? Surely they would have found a way to communicate with her?? And, maybe they would have idk, found her?? Or she would have got in contact with them? I WANTED THEM TO BE THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!! WAAAAAAAA!!!!!!

IMG_1882

Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30Ilsa:  OKAY ENOUGH OF KATE I AM TEARING UP SO BAD.  Let’s talk August WHO I WILL ALWAYS LOVE.  HE’S SO BROKEN but ‘he’s being who he has to be’ and I think he deserves the award for most development. And he also wins the smollest character of the year, Of COURSE, I missed the old August sooo bad but this new side to him? It just showed how much the events in TSS changed him. And it WAS SO HORRIBLE TO WATCH HIM GO THROUGH EVERYTHING.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31Lu: OMG YES I missed him so much and I just wanted to HUG him the ENTIRE time like WHYYY did he?? BUT I UNDERSTAND, DON’T WORRY MY CHILD.  I just.. . . IT PAINED ME so much to see how much everything in TSS pained him and affected him. He felt like he was broken and WRONG and he isn’t!!! AHHH “I’m being who I need to be”   JUST TORE ME APART.  AUGUST WAS LIKE “imsobadfordoingthis” and was SO human and didn’t want people to see the “weaker” side to him but HE CAN’T HELP IT HE’S JUST SMOL.IMG_1882

So, what did you think of the plot and pacing?

Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30Ilsa:  I feel like some of the bits were slightly ‘calm’ and didn’t get me excited as much as I wanted them too? I think it was paced really well, and in such a way that it developed a lot BUT DID NOT PREPARE FOR US FOR THE HEARTBREAK AHAHAHA. And It was super hooking. At some points, the buddy read was hard because I JUST WANTED TO DEVOUR THE WHOLE BOOK.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31Lu: I think that it was actually a bit slow in the beginning??? I think that after literally 30 pages  BAM something new was introduced and THEN I COULD NOT CONTAIN MYSELF AND I JUST KEPT READINGANDREADING. But yes, I totally agree that while it was really fast, NO DEVELOPMENT WAS LOST. It was both super gripping, yet still INCREDIBLY DETAILED.

LOL, I DID DEVOUR THIS WUT U SAYIN’ ILSA. . .

Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30Ilsa: Definitely couldn’t put it down! I think I WOULD have liked to know more about the world? But I think Schwab gives you little snippets about a few things to keep you hanging on. And since it’s only a duology you can’t expect much. Also because it’s quite a light kind of story? As in it isn’t a heavy fantasy. SO THANKS SCHWAB FOR GOING EASY ON US MULBERRIES.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31Lu: I agree, BUT I think that a lot of the development was done in TSS so we already know the world and don’t need MASSES of world building that we already know as it could’ve slowed the pace down A LOT and kept us from feeling the “ajajajajjaalka this book I need to eat it all right now” feelings. I agree that it’s not super HEAVY and I LIKE that because the emotional trauma makes up for it.

IMG_1882Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30

Ilsa: BUT LET US SCREAM ABOUT THE MONSTERS BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT WE ARE ALL REALLY HERE FOR. First off, SLOAN CAN GO DIE. DIIIIIEEEE I TELL YOU. He’s so freaking evil and HE HURTS MY PRECIOUS BABIES SO MUCH. And why does Alice even exist??? YOU DON’T NEED TO EXIST OKAY.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31Lu: UDBKDJ YES. HES SUCH A MONSTER. . . literally. LIKE WHY IS HE EVEN HERE. WHY DOES HE DO THIS TO MY BABY AUGUST?  MY SMOL AUGUST DOES NOT DESERVE THIS.  ALICE, svjsjgbr honestly. She just. GOT IN THE WAY. I HATE HER. How dare she do that to MY KATE.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30Ilsa: AGHH YES I HATE THE MONSTERS but I actually LOVED the darkness in this story!? As in I LOVED the dark themes. Like at one point August is reaping sinner’s souls and it’s like “BUT DID THAT MAN actually do wrong by killing? Can we justify it?”. AND YES FOR THESE THOUGHTS. It made it so real and raw.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31Lu: omg me too. DARKNESS IN BOOKS = HAPPY LU. The book was SO sinister. Like. . i get it, wwhoooooooooo darkandmystirouuuuuus but like. WHOA this is on a new level kind of sinister. It made the book really real and I just want to go around patting the heads of all the good people in comfort saying “you’re doing a good job, just carry on” BECAUSE RIGHT NOW THEY ALL NEED THAT AND SO DO I OK? 

 Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30 Ilsa: DARKNESS IN BOOKS IS WHAT MAKES ME GET UP IN THE MORNING OKAY.  And I know this is a spoiler free review BUT the ships sailed!!!

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31Lu: Snap. Actually. It doesn’t because I just stay in bed reading all day. SHIPS SHIPS SHIPSSSSSSS SHIPS SHIPSSSSSSS this made me so happy. IT DIDN’T TAKE ANYTHING AWAY OR SHIFT THE FOCUS AND THAT MADE ME SO HAPPY.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30 Ilsa: The romance was so subtle and kind of just came creeping up on you and it is built up so well and it literally made my heart fill with glee. I mean there was no romance in the first book and even though there WAS A LITTLE in this book, the plot still shone ❤

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31 Lu: Yes. I love how everything suddenly didn’t become about the romance and there were more things about THE AMAZING PARENTS AND SIBLING RELATIONSHIPS than the romantic ones. . . BUT HENRY MY LOVE.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30 Ilsa: Omg.  Emily and Henry.  SORRY, we HARDLY get parents let alone FAMILY in books but Henry and Emily are the perfect human parents and I adore THEM so much for what they do!

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31 Lu: WHY DID THIS HAVE TO HAPPEN. I think that the whole parents thing JUST TOPPED OFF ALL THE EMOTIONAL TRAUMA AND MADE EVERYTHING SO MUCH WORSE. AND I JUST FELT. SO. MUCH. Like soz, but I can’t deal with all this I’ll come back in a few years. Meanwhile, I’ll just shut down all my emotions. . .

IMG_1882Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30

Ilsa: YES LET’S TALK HEARTBREAK. I mean I CANNOT SAY TOO MUCH obviously but I can say, V.E Schwab was born to be evil. I tell you this and IT IS NOT A LIE OKAY.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31Lu: I thoroughly dislike her now #TOOMUCHPAIN My heart is still SMUSHED and it’s been like  JUST UNDER A MONTH I mean. . . ILYSM VE SCHWAB.. . but why you treating us this way??? So much emotion. . . I couldn’t stop going on about this book!

Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30Ilsa: OH AND MORE HEARTBREAK WITH Ilsa ❤ ILSAAAA. I will always remember her strawberry coloured hair. And you think Ilsa made you feel things in book one? HAHA GET READY FOR ODD.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31Lu: It pains me so much that she couldn’t speak but like… the way that August still understood her was so adorable and they hugged so much and JUST SHOWS HOW MUCH HE UNDERSTAND HER AND OTHER PEOPLE AND HOW HE’S SO HUMAN. WHY DO WE ALWAYS COME BACK TO TALKING ABOUT AUGUST. ..

. . .  bc we lurveeee himmm.

IMG_1882Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30

Ilsa:  BUT we cannot forget Allergo OBVIOUSLY. Allergo is my fave. Period. OKAY?! He’s so so so so so perfect.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31

Lu: AWWWWW MY SWEET LITTLE ALLEGRO. I want another cat now. HE’S AHFKJAFKJS ADORABLE W/ HIS LITTLE GREEN EYES. WAAA CUTEEEEE.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 14.05.30Ilsa: So overall I LOVED THIS BOOK. After This Savage Song, I was literally begging for the sequel so when I FINALLY got my hands on this, I was so pleased. The writing was STILL as beautiful as ever. I still managed to fly through the book and it was so easy to read! I love Allergo, there was too much heartbreak and I will never be okay again.

Screenshot 2017-11-05 13.59.31Lu:  SAME!!! I had This Savage Song for 6 months before I read it so I was so glad to get to this one so quick. All the words were beautiful and ate my heart for breakfast and I semi want to form a VE SCHWAB RELIGION where we just praise her writing. The book was so beautiful, and I feel like I’ve been torn into 857328941536 pieces. BUT NO REGRETS.IMG_1882

Of course, 5 STARS TO THIS BEAUT.

Anything less. . . I would smite anyone how rated it less than that.**

Again, go follow Ilsa here because she’s brilliant and you’ll LURRRRVE IT. 

** JK. . . I respect other’s opinions. . . kinda. . .

chat with me

Have you read this? have you read her other books? what did you think of those? have you read This Savage Song? Let me know in the comments!! 

Luuuuuu

10 thoughts on “Duet Discussion About Our Dark Duet With Lu and Ilsa // The Queens Unite To Review Monsters, Darkness and Soul Stealing.”

  1. I loved reading both yours and Ilsa’s thoughts on this book Lu, also I thought this was a really great format for your review as well. Our Dark Duet was an incredible read and one of my favourites. I couldn’t believe how V.E. Schwab ended the series, like, how could it end there?! And like that?!
    This story was heartbreaking but it was a brilliant end to the duology wasn’t it? Even though it completely destroyed me (then again I kind of expected nothing less from a story by V.E. Schwab)! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!

      omg yes??? I know right???!?!?!?!!?HOW COULD SHE DO THIS TO US????!?!?!1//1/1?!!??! poor august!!!!!!!!!!! omg went into that book ready* to get my heart BROKEN AND SHE DID NOT DISAPPOINT. I was a blubbering mess the entire time.

      *pft no.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. 🙂 Yeah that ending was insanely brutal, I mean I knew it would be a happy ending per say but I had hoped for an ending that wouldn’t rip out my heart! I really hope we get more books in this world one day. I feel like there’s still so much I want answers to. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I STILL DON’T KNOW ON WHICH ONE OF YA’LL POST TO COMMENT SO I’M BEING A REBEL THAT DEFIES THE LAWS OF COMMON BLOGGING SENSE AND I’M COMMENTING ON BOTH!! HaHA I is the biggest of rebels.

    also I haven’t read this book and I’ve owned the first one forever and haven’t even read THAT ONE and it’s one of my fave authors and what am I doing even my tbr is killing me slowly look i am being absorbed now

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was a cool review format! I read This Savage Song recently and IM IN LOVE. It was just so so so good!! Definitely need to get to Our Dark Duet as soon as I can, I’m hoping I love it just as much if not more! I skimmed through this haha because I haven’t read ODD but which did you prefer?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much!!! I AM SO GLAD!! ITSNT IT PERFECTION???????

      Please get to it as soon as you can AND TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK!!!!!??????

      I love them both so so sooo much its a really hard choice. . . ill have to go for tss. . . no odd. . . no . . . IDK??? BOTH ARE MY CHILDREN.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell The Cake Queen Your Thoughts: