The Upside of Unrequited Review.

I have a problem with books… but we all knew that already.

The Upside of Unrequited is a contemporary, and I know, I don’t read many as fantasy has low-key taken over my life. Howeverrrrrr, Becky Albertalli is so hyped and I’d heard loads of things about her new book so I thought,, why not? Also,,, one can only take so much of fantasist before their brain decides to SHUT.DOWN and say, “nope! no moreeeeee!” and just want something light and fluffy.

And this book was light and fluffy, and a great contemporary, and I can’t believe that I liked it this much. I really can’t. It was actually realistic and relatable, and sure, some parts may not necessarily happen in our lives, but it was great. There were a lot of topics mentioned in the book, such a as homophobia, fat-shaming, anxiety, and many others and I loved how they were all encapsulated into the book.

30653853.jpgSeventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.
Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.
There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?     (GOODREADS)

Anyway, so I loved the main character Molly, her PoV was hilarious at points, and heartbreaking at others and it was such a great perspective. She’s this bubbily character that questions A LOT of her life, just as I’m sure that a lot of teenagers do, and it was such a great representation.

The book literally flew by, yesterday I read from about page 70 to the end in two sittings and the writing style, mixed with Molly’s PoV, made for a really easy, breezy read that just let me get absorbed by the book and live among the pages (OOHH MY GOSH HOW GREAT WOULD IT BE TO ACTUALLY LIVE IN A BOOK??)

All the romances in this book were super adorable, and Molly’s mums where so.fricking.adorable.the.entire.way.through. I love love love when characters have amazing parents, and this was definitely so, they were embarrassing, hilarious and 1000% perfect. — note: I loved the level of diversity, it was fantastic!

Also, the FRIENDSHIPSSSSSS. Not everything was plain sailing between everyone, and there was actually quite a few disputes and arguments in the book, and it made the situations so much more realistic. Also, what I really loved about this book is that it didn’t end with everything being perfect, things were good, but not everything was answered and it wasn’t a “and they lived happily ever after” ending and that just added even more as I find that wayyy too many contemporaries end that way.

That’s about all that I have to say for this book and if you’ve rad it let me know your thoughts int eh comments 🙂

Lu

5 thoughts on “The Upside of Unrequited Review.

  1. I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed this book! I just finished it myself, and it has definitely become a favourite of 2017 🙂 I agree with you about the parent representation- it was all so cute!! Great review, Lu!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

