MY READING HABITS AND HOW THEY’VE CHANGED. MY BEAST CHILDREN + CASUAL WAR

News just in: MY READING HABITS HAVEN’T ALWAYS BEEN THE SAME. Since joining the bookstagram* community, and starting my blog, my reading habits have actually changed A LOT. Now, a lot of tropes that I used to like, and didn’t recognise as “tropes” I dislike, and I’ve completely changed genres and the amount I read and EVERYTHING IS DIFFERENT NOW **

*literally, this introduced me to so many faves. books are literally in your face the entire time, it’s fab **OK maybe not everything.IMG_1882

CONTEMPORARY, WHERE DID YOU GO? 

I used to be suchhhhh an avid reader of cute contemporary novels. But slowly once I fell into fantasy it took over my mind, body, and soul and there’s no getting them back I started to find contemporary unrealistic and stereotypical. 

Most representations of High School became  basic and cliche  And, I often found that most novels we’re mainly filled with petty, needless drama. like,,,,, no thanks, dear.

Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 01.50.17Is this just me???? I feel like so many characters are immature, or already know how relationships work at the age of 16/17, like they’re experts???

Did I miss these classes/tutorials? Is there someplace to sign-up and become an expert on relationships? *eats cake to feel better about knowing nothing about relationships*

IMG_1882

THE CLASSIC TROPE OF “THE LOVE TRIANGLE” OH, AND IS IT A TALE!

Ahhhhh the love triangle! I USED TO LOVE THEM 

Now when I see a love triangle I want to wither in my cave and die. They are so over done! And I guarantee that one of the interests is going to be a “bad boy” that excites the MC and the other is going to be some other dude that’s just your average high-schooler. It’s just a stereotype. They’re just mainly filled with cliches / stereotypes that really rattle my cage.

WHY CAN’T WE HAVE MORE DIVERSE LOVE TRIANGLES? 

I MEAN,, NOT ASKING FOR A LOT? I’m not asking for an army of 100,000,000 and 10 castles all over the world, am I? NO! I’m not asking to be EMPRESS OF THE GALAXIES I already am.

Love triangles are just over-done.

IMG_1882

READING ONE BOOK AT A TIME? PFFFTTT. 

HA. HAHAHA. AHA. AH. HA. #nope.

jennifer-lawrence-derp-face-gif-4
*laughs at you* pahaha these silly humans. . .

I used to just be like “yasss one book at a time because I will get confused” ahhh naive foetus lu. . .  SCREW BEING CONFUSED. (at this moment in time I have something in my eye. I think it’s an eyelash. there are tears from my eyes where else, lu?  the bastard won’t leave my eye. urhg there we are) *that didn’t happen*

Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 01.50.17

where was I? Yeaaas 2+ books at a time! MORE LIKE 1000.

It feels like you get more done, and at this stage in my life I’m unproductive and am achieving rien (nothing) so I NEED THIS. OKAY?

IMG_1882ALL OF A SUDDEN I HAD 5,657,359,325,258 BEAST BABIES.

I got into fantasy, and BAM I HAVE ALL THESE BEAST BABIES THAT I MUST PROTECT!! I give them cake and they are very happy. DO NOT ANTAGONISE THEM. They don’t like strangers.

I mean,, , now I want all books to have monsters, mythical beasts, or some kind of animal. IT’S ACTUALLY SURPRISING HOW LITTLE FANTASY HAS MYTHICAL ANIMALS / BEASTS?? Is it really just me who finds this???

giphy-2-2

IMG_1882

ALL THE LIGHT FROM MY LIFE READING VANISHED.

Suddenly I was just there craving more DARKNESS. More thieves, death-y-ness, murder and warrrrrrrr. I don’t quite know what happened.

I just STOPPED liking contemporaries and then
MY SOUL JUST BECAME THE INCARNATE OF DARKNESS AND THE EMPRESS OF THE GALAXIES WAS BORN
Screw the Darkling, I’m here. MY SOUL IS DARKER THAN THE UNIVERSE.

tumblr_oou445VKan1w0qmx4o1_400.gif

IMG_1882Screen Shot 2017-08-27 at 11.15.56
  • Love triangles – I used to like them (I WAS 13!), but now I find them pointless. JUST PICK ONE ALREADY.
  • Cute, fluffy contemporaries, WHERE ARE THE DRAGONS AND BEASTS AND QUESTS ALREADY? 
  • “Chosen one” urgh. cool. just BE BETTER THEN????
  • WHoooaaaa secretly has magic powers *thrown into dangerous situation and survives* . .. …. . … .  .. … . .  . . . . ……. RIGHT. yup. #TROPES.
  • PETTY TEEN DRAMA. NO. GO. AWAY. I HAVE NO TIME.
  • “Bad boy” trope go die. OVER.DONE.Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 01.50.17
  • HOT GUY FALLING FOR NERDY PERSON / WHO’S NOT POPULAR. This doesn’t happen irl. people are too shallow. #UnrealisticContemporaries
  • High school is really unrealistic in books. Didn’t used to bother me, it does now.
  • Contemporaries in general *scares*. GIMME SOME WARRRRRRRR *casually drops in some war, battles, and street fights* 
  • #MONSTERSAreEverything. I MUST PROTECT MY BEAST BABIES AS EMPRESS OF THE GALAXIES AND CAKE QUEEN. 
  • I used to be all about romaceeeeee in books but now it doesn’t bother me if there is or isn’t.
  • I’m all about thatttttt FANTASY shiiiiiiiii*

chat with me

What about your reading habits? Have they changed?

LUUUUUUUUUU

 

 

<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18458081/?claim=gds48pyvdh9″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

14 thoughts on “MY READING HABITS AND HOW THEY’VE CHANGED. MY BEAST CHILDREN + CASUAL WAR”

  1. sorry for being so late! I went on like one-week un announced hiatus but super glad I AM BACKK ❤ I am so with you on the contemporary to fantasy. We have both turned to the dark side MUHAHAHAH. DARKNESS I LOVE YOU ❤ ❤
    I still love a GOOD love traingle. they are quite rare but sometimes love triangles CAN BE ANNOYING. They have to be done very well, in my opinion, for me to actually LIKE them. We have adopted so many children, Lu.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LIKE ALL BOOKS (except why haven’t I got into mystery????) AND YESSS FUCK LOVE TRIANGLES DONE BADLY!!! 😦 And the nerd bad boy trope I just…. Don’t like??

    Like

  3. My reading tastes have changed a lot over the years. I’ve gone from reading lots of classics and best selling, general fiction, to reading YA books, to reading pretty much nothing but fantasy. I think it makes sense that our tastes change as we grow older and based on what is happening in our lives. That’s how it is for me anyway. I’ve been going through a lot of hard times, so having fantasy stories and re-tellings is a helpful way to get my mind on something that’s far away from reality.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I think that’s why I love fantasy so much, it just takes us it this completely different world. Yeah, and I get what you mean, I’ve grown up A LOT since I liked contemporary books, and the interests that I had back then too have changed. I think that when I was less mature I was unable to really think about what I was reading in a deeper way, whereas now I can see when characters act too naively, or impulsively

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so relatable!! My reading habits have changed so much in the past few years (possibly just because I am getting older) and I’ve been reading a lot more fantasy and YESSS I WANT THE DARKNESSSSSSSS (is there anything else?)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ohhh boi yas definitely this post has made my day 😂😂😂 and yes my reading habits have definitely changed over the years ahahhaha and it’s a bit long and im too lazy to type em all bc it’s nighttime here and yaa hhahah

    Liked by 1 person

Tell The Cake Queen Your Thoughts: